Green Smoothie Challenge: Day 8

This is by far my most delicious-looking green smoothie this month, and I think I’m getting better at styling and using the natural light. Here’s this delicious creation featuring kiwis! Had a nice time sipping on it while watching the sun set after photographing it (and getting some strange looks from neighbors as I tried to steady my shot while balancing on a plastic chair).

1 cup of spinach
2 kiwis, peeled
1 small green apple
½  avocado
1 frozen banana
coconut water
raw honey to taste

30 Days of Green Smoothies DAY EIGHT | Sweet Anythings

Green Kiwi Smoothie

This morning, I researched which sweeteners are actually “healthy”, or really, just not as bad as processed sugar. I typically only sweeten my smoothies with fruit or dates, or if I’m out of both, I might squeeze in some maple syrup or raw honey. Here’s a pretty good article that sums up the difference between glycemic index and fructose content and which is a better factor in determining how healthy or unhealthy sugars are. Here are the points that stood out to me most:

  • While agave nectar, for example, may have a low glycemic index (meaning it won’t cause blood sugar to spike the way sugar will) it contains 70-90% fructose while regular sugar is about 50%! It’s also very processed in the way cane sugar is.
  • Whether it’s raw, organic, or just regular cane sugar, your body can’t tell the difference. I thought raw/organic was always best, but it turns out in this case, it’s not. Same goes for “evaporated cane juice.” Yep, I thought these were better alternatives, too!
  • I use coconut sugar on my oatmeal almost every morning, but apparently it’s also not so good. Any added sugar isn’t great for you, but this one is much less-processed and only contains 35-45% fructose, so I’ll use it in moderation.

My journey to eat healthier, I found out, isn’t rocket science; it just takes a bit of self-education, common sense, and good decision-making. Keep up an interest in staying informed about nutrition and you’ll find a wealth of knowledge. Hope all of you green smoothie-makers are having fun out there this month! Here’s the link to the challenge I’m participating in, and see my Instagram for daily smoothie photos.

Leave a Reply

